anything in return – toro y moi

Chazwick Bundick has released two albums as Toro Y Moi which were cherished in the Indie music scene for his ability to do danceable songs with synths and being one of the first chillwave artists. In Anything In Return, he does what he knows how to do, and he doesn’t fail.

“Harm in Change” works as a good opening track immersing you into a swinging beat as its intensity grows as we get further into it. Once it finishes, the music has already embraced you and I can assure that your feet will be already moving to the beat. The two singles that follows are outstanding, especially “Say That” with a repeating sample of a female voice contrasting with his calmed voice. After “Rose Quartz”, which builds itself slowly in a beautiful way, the album suddenly loses its power with songs such as “Cola” and “Studies” that seem to be there only to make the album last longer.

However, Toro Y Moi knows how to cheer it up again in the brilliant “Cake”. The instruments joins the vocals in everything they do: in the chorus they sound fun and interactive as he charmingly sings “She knows, I’m gonna be her boy forever” while in the verses as the voice sounds calm, the instruments remain deep at the back. In the following tracks, the fun and active spirit goes on and he succeeds at ending the album impressively as he started it.

Even with that sluggish part in the middle of the record, Anything in Return flows extremely well and keeps your attention all the time. It may not be one of the best albums of the year, but it isindeed a very enjoyable one that makes you want to dance.

Juana Giaimo


  1. Darrin

    Chaz may not be the finest lyricist, but he still is a great, talented producer, arranger, and instrumentalist at the young age of 26. P.S. Hi, Juana! (:

  2. Simone

    Hi Lo-fi! This is a nice-looking and well-written blog, so I hope you don’t mind me mentioning our new service for music bloggers, as follows! … Thank Q! Simone

    Increase your readership!

    Introducing Alltime Records at … a new site designed specifically for music bloggers, launched July 2013:

    Features …

    – Quality control via exclusive invitation-only site membership (in other words, a limited number of Reviewers)
    – Sandbox / demonstration mode
    – No advertisements
    – An already-established constant stream of visitor traffic to the site, return-visit rate currently around 20%
    – Automated ‘predictive’ search function
    – Easy-to-use uncluttered site design
    – Simple and intuitive site navigation
    – Fully documented site with Help pages and User Guides
    – Helpdesk (no Moderators or Admins!)
    – Internal reward-points system
    – Weekly Reviewer Leaderboard (similar to an albums chart!)
    – End-of-month Leaderboard prizes

    – Your own customisable profile page, indexed by Google Search, listing your most recent 100 album reviews
    – Links back to your blog
    – Interact with other Reviewers via the site’s Chatterbox messaging system
    – Sort functions for managing your reviews

    Artists & Albums
    – Instant additions, no approval queues
    – individual Artist pages, indexed by Google
    – individual Album pages with reviews, indexed by Google
    – limit on number of reviews per Album (so your review won’t be buried amongst hundreds of others)
    – Classical Albums have their own functions for handling different orchestral conductors, soloists, composers etc
    – Series Albums are catered for too, along with Various Artist releases and Soundtracks
    – no ‘dead’ or empty pages – every Album on the site has at least one review
    – a no-mess presentation, duplicated Artist or Album entries are automatically flushed from the site

    – Easy-to-use inline Review Editor
    – Easy addition of track-listings and artwork (or ask the Helpdesk to add them for you!)
    – Four categories of review:
    — Quips
    — mini-Reviews
    — Standard Reviews – all posted to the Home page
    — Flip! Reviews – randomly rotated onto the Home page
    – A standardised / pre-defined 7 star rating system for Albums
    — Integrity of Overall Ratings ensured by automated exclusion of ‘Team Raters’ / ‘haters’ / ‘fanboys’
    — Comng soon! For extra ratings accuracy, a Ratings Calculator based on individual track-lengths

    – No Moderators / Admins / approval queues to contend with
    – Express! addition of Artists and Albums
    – Post a review in just a few seconds, either via the Home Page or from your Profile menu
    – Ask the Helpdesk to add an Artist / Album, then post your review.

    – monthly visitor-stats reports for Artists / Albums / Reviewers / visitor search-terms
    – your own confidential reward-points Scoresheet

    – easily accessed year-by-year charts based on Album ratings, 1950 to present.
    – The latest Blowfish security, and full privacy controls over your profile and email address
    – the site has been in beta mode for just over a year, and is fully debugged

    – more details available on the site’s FAQ, or
    – contact Simone or Adele on the Helpdesk, they’ll be happy to assist!

    OK then,
    All The Best!

    Larry and Simone, and Adele.
    Alltime Records Webmaster & Helpdesk

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>